How to Get a Med Marijuana Card Online in New Jersey [2021 Update]
A New Jersey marijuana card, or MedCard gives qualified patients the opportunity to buy medical grade cannabis products at open state licensed dispensaries. NJ law has several requirements for patients to get certified.
The state of New Jersey now has a full-fledged medical marijuana program, with recreational adult use marijuana coming soon. So what’s the point? The price for starters. Participating in the NJ medical cannabis program is not difficult. Below details the steps on how and why to get a medical marijuana card in New Jersey.
MedCard Registration Form
Get a New Jersey Marijuana Card in 3 Easy Steps
STEP 1 – Visit with a NJ Marijuana Doctor online
- MedCard telemedicine appointments are done online without leaving home.
- Be a New Jersey resident.
- Be diagnosed with a qualifying condition by a NJ Doctor registered with the MMP.
- Locate a recommending marijuana doctor that will speak with you in regard getting a medical card.
- Following the doctors approval your certification will be uploaded to the state system.
STEP 2 – Required Documents
- Recent photograph, full-face view, directly facing the camera.
- NJ Driver’s License or other government Issued photo ID
- Proof of Residency – Recent utility bill including but not limited to a gas, electric, water, sewer, phone, cable or internet bill.
STEP 3 – Register with the state
- Go to state website for registrations and renewals..
- You will need the reference number from your Medicinal Marijuana doctor found on your copy of your MMP certification.
- Create a profile here: STATE WEBSITE
- Login and pay the states fee for the medical marijuana ID card fee which is $100.00.
- If you are involved in any assistance programs such as Medicaid, SSD, SSI, SNAP, or a Military Veteran, you are eligible for the reduced fee of $20.00.
- Congratulations! Go buy some legal cannabis products for medical use!
What is MedCard Telemedicine?
New Jersey – Telemedicine gives patients the opportunity to visit with a marijuana card doctor in New Jersey using your smart phone, tablet, or personal computer. Online medcard appointments help reduce the spread and exposure of patients to Coronavirus (COVID-19) and other germs. Qualified patients can get legal THC and CBD medicine for the treatment of several qualifying conditions.
Marijuana telehealth appointments can be done virtually online from anywhere in the state without having to leave the house. No travel, in person doctor office visit, or inconvenience. Your New Jersey medical card will be issued after the doctors approval. It doesn’t get any more germ free than this!
If you’re ready, simply fill out the MMJ patient registration form, press submit, and you’re on your way to a marijuana doctors appointment from the comfort of your living room or dining room table. You will receive an email with follow up details as well. See if you qualify today.
New Jersey Qualifying Conditions
In order to qualify for a medical marijuana card in New Jersey patients must receive a recommendation from a doctor stating that the patient suffers from one of the following medical conditions:
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
- Chronic Pain
- Crohn’s Disease
- Inflammatory Bowel Disease
- Multiple sclerosis
- Muscular Dystrophy
- Muscular Spasticity
- Opioid Use Disorder
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Seizure disorder
- Terminal Illness
- Tourette’s Syndrome
- Vomiting, or
- Wasting Syndrome
New Jersey Medical Marijuana Rules for doctors
First off, in order to become a medical marijuana patient in New Jersey, a patient’s eligibility must be assessed by a bona fide registered Marijuana doctor. The physician must certify that the patient has an approved debilitating medical condition to participate in the NJ MMP.
In order to qualify for the program, the physician-patient relationship must meet one of the following criteria:
- The relationship has existed for at least one year; or
- The physician has seen and/or assessed the patient for the debilitating medical condition on at least four visits; or
- The physician assumes responsibility for providing management and care of the patient’s debilitating medical condition after conducting a comprehensive medical history and physical examination, including a personal review of the patient’s medical record maintained by other treating physicians reflecting the patient’s reaction and response to conventional medical therapies.
New Jersey MedCard Q&A
Other Important Information about New Jersey Marijuana Cards
How Much Does a New Jersey Medical Card Cost To Get From The State?
The fee for patients, including minors and caregivers, is $100. Senior citizens, military veterans, or those who qualify for certain state and federal assistance programs will pay a reduced fee of $20. If a guardian of a minor would qualify for a reduced registration fee, the minor patient would also qualify for the reduced fee.
How much does a Recommending Marijuana Doctor in New Jersey Cost?
The Average Cost to visit a Certified Ordering Doctor is $200 – $300 for the initial visit and $150 – $200 for the follow up visit.
Can doctors prescribe medical marijuana?
Doctors are actually not permitted to prescribe medical marijuana to their patients. However, if they are registered by the state, a doctor can recommend medical marijuana and approve their patients for access to the drug.
When I get my NJ MMJ card, can I grow my own marijuana?
Medical marijuana patients in New Jersey are not permitted to grow their own marijuana, and there are harsh penalties if you get caught doing so.
How long is my card good for?
Once registered, an MMP card is valid for a period of 2 years. However, the patient must follow up with their doctor within 30, 60, or 90 days as specified by the doctor. The physician will then update your physician statement in the patient registry. If this does not take place the card becomes invalid.
Where can I find a marijuana doctor near me in NJ?
What about minors?
Patients under the age of 18 are required to have a legal guardian as their designated caregiver. Once a patient reaches the age of 18, they need to re-register as an adult. In order to apply, a minor patient’s physician is required to complete a “minor attestation” form. Moreover, minors must have a recommendation from both a pediatric psychiatrist and physician. This requirement may soon be eliminated.
What’s a caregiver?
Registered patients are permitted to appoint a caregiver to purchase medical marijuana on their behalf. Caregivers must register for the program in a similar manner to patients. However, caregiver candidates are required to undergo a criminal background check. Up to two caregivers may be registered per patient.
Once I have a card, how much can I purchase?
As of the time of writing, the state has set a two-ounce per month limit. However, attempts are being made to increase the monthly limit from two to four ounces. Moreover, there is currently a limit of 10% THC, the compound produced in marijuana that causes intoxication. That limit is also expected to be repealed. Medical marijuana is packaged in 1/4 or 1/8 ounce quantities in New Jersey. A patient’s physician is required to determine the allowable monthly dosage.
Can I have marijuana delivered?
Currently home delivery is not allowed. Patients or caregivers must purchase their medicine at a licensed dispensary. This too may change in the near future.
Will insurance cover medical marijuana?
The cost of medicinal marijuana is not covered under Medicaid or any other public or private health insurance plans in New Jersey.
What do I do if my card is lost or stolen?
If a patient’s medical marijuana card is lost or stolen the patient is required to notify the MMP within 24 hours. There is a $10 replacement fee. Patients who qualified for a reduced fee upon registration pay a $5 replacement fee.
Can I smoke and drive?
Patients are forbidden to “operate, navigate, or be in control of any vehicle, aircraft, railroad train, or stationary heavy equipment vessel while under the influence of marijuana.”
Can my employer fire me for using medical marijuana?
Employers are not required to permit the use of medical marijuana by their employees. If your employer requires mandatory drug testing, the use of medical marijuana can result in termination of employment.
New Jersey Marijuana FAQ's
Frequently asked questions we receive regarding NJ cannabis.
Can I Smoke Weed in New Jersey Once Qualified?
Can I Smoke Weed in Public?
The use of medical marijuana in public is strictly prohibited. Moreover, patients may not smoke medicinal marijuana, on a school bus or any other form of public transportation, as well as on any school grounds, in any correctional facility, at any public park or beach, at any recreation center.
Can I Take My Medical Marijuana to a Different State?
No. According to current laws patients who obtain a medical card should use medical marijuana in New Jersey only. Medical marijuana patients may face federal and local charges of transporting marijuana if they cross state lines with the drug. This is true even if the states between which they are traveling allow medical marijuana. Should you need to travel with your marijuana it would be best to contact the state’s Bureau of health to understand the exact laws of the state you are traveling to in order to not risk breaking the law.
Is Recreational Weed Legal?
I see CBD Oils for sale on commercials, online, and at stores around town, is this CBD Oil legal in New Jersey?
Hemp derived CBD oil is legal.
Will CBD Oil, hemp, or cannabidiol get me high?
No. CBD is a product that has no THC if derived from hemp and very little if derived from cannabis. THC is the chemical compound that creates the “high”. CBD products are available for patients that have a need for non-euphoric treatment.
Is CBD for Pets really a thing?
Yes, CBD for Dogs, CBD for Cats, and CBD for pets in general is becoming a popular treatment for caring for pets that have arthritis, chronic pain and other ailments. The efficacy and safety of CBD for dogs, cats, and other pets have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. The FDA only evaluates foods and drugs, not supplements like these products.
Where can I get CBD for pets?
You can find CBD for pets at pet stores, retail and at holistic shops.
Are THC Infused edibles allowed in New Jersey?
Currently, edibles are only available for minors who are registered with the MMP. And again, this is expected to change in the near future allowing all patients to use edibles if they so choose.
What marijuana products are legally available in New Jersey?
Medical marijuana products available include:
- Vape Products
Where can I buy medical marijuana in New Jersey?
Dispensaries in New Jersey are referred to as “alternate treatment centers” or ATCs. Currently, patients are required to assign a single ATC. This too may change in the near future. Registered patients have the ability to switch physicians if they desire.
A maximum of half a dozen ATCs may currently be licensed by the state of New Jersey. All ATCs are required to run as non-profit organizations. Furthermore, ATCs must grow and process their own supply of medical marijuana.
Currently, patients are required to assign a single ATC. This too may change in the near future. Registered patients have the ability to switch physicians if they desire.
How Much Is Medical Marijuana in New Jersey?
The price range for medical cannabis in NJ is around $50 per eighth and $100 per quarter.
How Much Should I consume?
You should always consult with a New Jersey marijuana doctor before using and that doctor will set the course of treatment.