How To Get a Rhode Island Marijuana Card Online

If you’ve been considering getting a Rhode Island medical marijuana card but have been procrastinating because of the coronavirus crisis, we have good news for you. You don’t need to venture out and visit your local medical marijuana doctor. You remain in the comfort and safety of your own home and make an appointment for a medical marijuana recommendation via telemedicine. That is by phone or video conference. 

What is Rhode Island Marijuana Telemedicine?

Rhode Island – Telehealth gives patients the opportunity to visit with a marijuana card doctor in Rhode Island using your smart phone, tablet, or personal computer. Online medcard appointments help reduce the spread and exposure of patients to Coronavirus (COVID-19). Qualified patients can get legal THC and CBD medicine for the treatment of several qualifying conditions.

Live marijuana telehealth appointments can be done from anywhere in the state online without having to leave the house. No travel, in person doctor office visit, or inconvenience. Your Rhode Island medical card will be issued after the doctors approval. It doesn’t get any more germ free than this!

If you’re ready, simply fill out the MMJ patient registration form and you’re on your way to a marijuana doctors appointment from the comfort of your living room or dining room table. You will receive an email with follow up details as well. See if you qualify today.

MMJ Get Started
100 Percent Secure Form

Patient Registration Form

× Thank you, your request has been submitted!
Fill out the form to get started.
100 percent secure we respect your privacy

Rhode Island Qualifying Conditions for Legal Medical Marijuana

In order to be eligible for a medical marijuana card in Rhode Island, patients must be suffering from one of the following qualifying conditions:

It’s possible that other conditions might be approved by the DOH in the future, so check with your local Rhode Island medical marijuana doctor.

A brief history of Rhode Island medical marijuana laws

Did you know that the possession of cannabis without a prescription was banned in the state of Rhode Island more than 100 years ago? Once a forerunner in the Reefer Madness movement, Rhode Island has since taken its place among the country’s medical marijuana states. 

Rhode Island was the 11th state to legalize medical marijuana back in 2005 before it was fashionable. becoming the eleventh state to do so. However, it wasn’t until June of 2009 that the state officially launched its regulated cannabis industry.

According to the Rhode Island Department of Health, there are more than 18,000 registered medical marijuana patients in the state. 

The state’s medical marijuana program was actually passed by a landslide, winning over the state House by a vote of 52-10 and the state Senate by a vote of 33-1.

Although then-Governor Don Carcieri vetoed the bill, his veto was overridden by the Legislature in a vote of 59–13 in the state House and 28-6 in the state Senate.

As of 2019, there are three medical cannabis dispensaries in Rhode Island: Thomas C. Slater Compassion Center in Providence, Summit Medical Compassion Center in Warwick, and Greenleaf Compassion Center in Portsmouth.

But do you really need a medical marijuana card? The answer is yes if you plan on carrying around more than the legal limit of 2.5 ounces allocated to medical patients. Because if you get caught you’re looking at a potentially spending a year in jail and paying up to $500 fine. 

And if you plan on growing cannabis in Rhode Island without a license, you’re risking a potential sentence of 20 years’ in prison and between $25,000 and $100,000 in fines.

The good news is that if you’re caught with less than 2.2 pounds the worst that can happen is you’ll get a ticket for $150 (which is actually cheaper than a doctor’s appointment and card fee.)

However, if you want to legally purchase marijuana at a Rhode Island dispensary you’ll have to jump through the hoops to get your medical marijuana card. 

That may change in the near future as the majority of voters in the state are in favor of legalizing marijuana for recreational use.

In fact, a recent Brown University poll conducted in 2016 showed that 55% of Rhode Island voters support the full legalization of marijuana in the state. And another poll conducted in 2017 came in at 59% in favor.

With that out of the way, let’s talk about how to meet with a medical marijuana doctor via phone or video conference, how to apply for your card once you’re approved, and the laws you’ll need to be aware of such as possession limits and consumption rules.

Telehealth for medical marijuana in Rhode Island

Telemedicine refers to the use of telephone or video conference for a healthcare consultation. 

Medical marijuana doctors in Rhode island are permitted to recommend a patient for a medical marijuana card or renew a registration based solely on a phone call or remote conference.

Not all doctors offer telemedicine services, so you’ll need to contact your local medical marijuana doctor to confirm that they offer telemedicine services.

Rhode Island Medical Marijuana Laws Q&A

Next, we’ll answer some of the frequently asked questions regarding Rhode Island medical marijuana laws.

How old do you have to be to get a medical marijuana card in Rhode Island?

Patients must be at least 18 years of age to apply for a medical marijuana card in Rhode Island. However, a parent or guardian may apply on behalf of a minor. 

The parent or guardian is counted as one of the patient’s primary caregivers.

How much does a Recommending Marijuana Doctor in Rhode Island Cost?

The Average Cost to visit a Certified Ordering Doctor is $100 – $200 for the initial visit and $75 – $150 for the follow up visit.

Can doctors prescribe medical marijuana?

Doctors are actually not permitted to prescribe medical marijuana to their patients. However, if they are registered by the state, a doctor can recommend medical marijuana and approve their patients for access to the drug.

How do I apply for a Rhode Island medical marijuana card?

In order to obtain a medical marijuana card in Rhode Island, a patient must have a written recommendation from a certified doctor.

Doctors are only permitted to recommend medical marijuana after completing a full assessment of your medical history. 

You can find the application forms and instructions on The Rhode Island Department of Health’s Medical Marijuana Program page.

Can Rhode Island medical marijuana patients grow their own marijuana?

Rhode Island medical marijuana patients are permitted to grow up to 12 mature plants at home. Primary caregivers are also allowed to grow for their patients with a limit of 24 plants. 

Furthermore, patients are permitted to cooperatively cultivate marijuana in residential or non-residential locations as long as they possess under 10 ounces of usable marijuana. Also, there is a 48 plant and 48 seedlings maximum.

How much does it cost to get a medical marijuana card in Rhode Island?

A fee of $75 is required to apply for a medical marijuana card in Rhode Island. However, the fee can be reduced to $10 if the patient is enrolled in Medicaid, SSI, or SSDI.

Does Rhode Island medical marijuana laws allow patients to designate caregivers?

Rhode Island medical marijuana patients may designate a primary caregiver to assist with the purchase, cultivation, and administration of medical marijuana. 

Primary caregivers must be at least 21 years old. Residents with a felony drug conviction are not eligible unless he/she was convicted of a crime that is now legal under the Rhode Island medical marijuana laws. 

Primary caregivers are not permitted to serve more than five patients. 

A patient is allowed to have two primary caregivers. 

Primary caregivers are permitted to be paid for costs incurred by providing assistance to the patient.

Where can I find Rhode Island medical marijuana dispensaries?

If you choose to purchase your medicine from a dispensary rather than growing your own, you’ll need to do so through a licensed medical marijuana dispensary. 

Medical marijuana dispensaries in Rhode Island are technically referred to as compassion centers. Compassion centers must be registered with the Department of Health and must be non-profit operations. 

Click here for a list of local medical marijuana dispensaries in Rhode Island.

Can Rhode Island medical marijuana patients smoke in public?

Medical marijuana patients in Rhode Island are forbidden from using medical marijuana in public including on a school bus or other form of public transportation as well as on school grounds, or at correctional facilities, or drug addiction treatment facilities. 

Operating any motor vehicle including a motorboat or plane while under the influence of marijuana is forbidden.

Will my personal information remain confidential?

The Rhode Island Department of Health maintains a confidential list of registered patients. The department is required to notify local and state law enforcement agencies of the number of qualified patients in each city or town. 

There is a $1,000 fine for any person, including any employee or official of the department of health or another state agency or local government who breaches a patient’s confidentiality.

Can a landlord deny your rental application or kick you out for using medical marijuana in Rhode Island?

Landlords may not refuse to lease a property due to an applicant being a medical marijuana patient or primary caregiver.

Can my employer fire me for using medical marijuana?

Employers are forbidden from firing an employee solely for medical marijuana use. because of patient status, but are permitted to forbid the use of medical marijuana at the place of employment. 

Does health insurance cover medical marijuana in Rhode Island?

Medical insurance companies in Rhode Island are not required to cover the cost of medical marijuana treatment.

Rhode Island Marijuana FAQ's

Frequently asked questions we receive regarding RI cannabis.

Can I Smoke Weed in Rhode Island Once Qualified?


What Medical Marijuana Products Are Available In Rhode Island?

  • Flower
  • Pre-Rolls
  • Edibles
  • Vape Cartridges
  • Extracts
  • Topicals
  • Tinctures

Can I Take My Medical Marijuana to a Different State?

No. According to current laws patients who obtain a medical card should use medical marijuana in Rhode Island only. Medical marijuana patients may face federal and local charges of transporting marijuana if they cross state lines with the drug. This is true even if the states between which they are traveling allow medical marijuana. Should you need to travel with your marijuana it would be best to contact the state’s Bureau of health to understand the exact laws of the state you are traveling to in order to not risk breaking the law.

How much cannabis are Rhode Island medical marijuana patients legally allowed to possess?

In addition to 12 mature marijuana plants, a  patient may possess up to 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana. Primary caregivers cannot possess more than five ounces of usable medical marijuana.

Is Recreational Weed Legal?


I see CBD Oils for sale on commercials, online, and at stores around town, is this CBD Oil legal in Rhode Island?

Hemp derived CBD oil is legal.

Will CBD Oil, hemp, or cannabidiol get me high?

No. CBD is a product that has no THC if derived from hemp and very little if derived from cannabis. THC is the chemical compound that creates the “high”. CBD products are available for patients that have a need for non-euphoric treatment.

Is CBD for Pets really a thing?

Yes, CBD for Dogs, CBD for Cats, and CBD for pets in general is becoming a popular treatment for caring for pets that have arthritis, chronic pain and other ailments. The efficacy and safety of CBD for dogs, cats, and other pets have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. The FDA only evaluates foods and drugs, not supplements like these products.

Where can I get CBD for pets?

You can find CBD for pets at pet stores, retail and at holistic shops.

Are THC Infused edibles allowed in Rhode Island?


Can I use Medical Marijuana Anywhere?

Similar to all states Rhode Island medical cannabis card holders have to be responsible. It is important to remember that when smoking in public, it may be assumed that you are using it for recreational use, which is illegal on a Federal Level. Rhode Island medical marijuana card holders are advised to consume their medicine responsibly, in the safety of their home or in a private residence.

How Much Is Medical Marijuana in Rhode Island?

The price range for medical cannabis in RI is around $10-$15 per gram and $125-$225 per ounce.

How Much Should I consume?

You should always consult with a Rhode Island marijuana doctor before using and that doctor will set the course of treatment.

Scroll to Top