How To Get A Medical Marijuana Card In Georgia
Complete Guide 2019
GA – A marijuana card, or MMJ card is a state issued ID card. As a resident of the state, the complete guide on how to get a medical marijuana card in Georgia is as follows:
There are three categories of persons who may apply for a GA MMJ card. A Patient may be entered into the Georgia Department of Health Low THC Registry if:
An adult who has one or more of the diseases specified in the law, and who has been a resident of Georgia for at least one year;
Legal guardians of an adult who has one of the diseases specified in the law, and who has been a resident of Georgia for at least one year; and
Parents or legal guardians of a minor child who has one or more of the diseases specified in the law, and has been a resident for at least one year or was born in Georgia and is under one year of age.
The patient is diagnosed with a qualifying condition.
The physician will electronically submit the patients information to the Georgia Department of Public Health, which will review the information and create a Low THC Oil Registry Card for qualified applicants.
What are the Georgia Medical Cannabis Card Costs?
$25 – The fee for a Low THC Registry Card is $25 per new card, which is the standard fee used by the Office of Vital Records. You will be asked to pay for your card when you pick it up from the closest of the 20 Public Health Offices approved to distribute them.
How Long Is a Georgia Marijuana Card Good?
The GA MMJ Card is valid for 2 Years
My Georgia Medical Marijuana Card has Expired. How to Renew My Card?
The card will be valid for two years from the date it is issued. The expiration date will be printed on the front of the card. After that time, you will need to again consult with your physician and request that they update and confirm your information into the registry. Please plan to allow 15 business days to process your information, print your card and have it ready for pick-up from the closest of the 20 Public Health Offices approved to distribute them to the address you list as your residence in the registry.
Where will I get my Low THC Registry Card? Will it be mailed to me?
You will be notified when your card has been printed. A representative from DPH’s Office of Vital Records will contact you to establish which of 20 select Public Health Offices across the state is most convenient for you to pick up your card. A representative from that Public Health Office will then notify you when your card is available for pick-up.
What happens if I lose my card?
If you lose your card, please contact the State Office of Vital Records at 404-679-4702. If your card has not expired, your physician will be contacted to confirm you are still under their care. Once confirmed, a replacement card will be provided to you. Please plan to allow 15 business days to process your information, print your card and have it ready for pick-up at your closest Public Health Office. Replacement cards will cost $25.
The information on my card is wrong or outdated. How do I correct it?
If the information on your card is wrong or outdated, please contact the State Office of Vital Records at 404-679-4702. Vital Records will verify the information provided by your physician on your order. If the information on the order is incorrect, you will need to contact your physician and ask that they update the information. At that time a new card will be issued.
Can I alter or laminate my card?
You may laminate your card, so long as the security features are still visible. You may not alter it in any other way.
Qualifying Conditions for GA MMJ
What are Qualifying Conditions Required to Receive Medical Marijuana in Georgia?
The law lists debilitating conditions which qualify for the Low THC Oil Registry
Cancer, when such diagnosis is end stage or the treatment produces related wasting illness or recalcitrant nausea and vomiting
Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, when such diagnosis is severe or end stage
Seizure disorders related to diagnosis of epilepsy or trauma related head injuries
Multiple sclerosis, when such diagnosis is severe or end stage
Parkinson’s disease, when such diagnosis is sever or end stage
Sickle cell disease, when such diagnosis is severe or end stage
Tourette’s syndrome, when such syndrome is diagnosed as severe
Autism spectrum disorder, when (a) patient is 18 years of age or more, or (b) patient is less than 18 years of age and diagnosed with severe autism
Alzheimer’s disease, when such disease is severe or end stage
AIDS when such syndrome is severe or end stage
Peripheral neuropathy, when symptoms are severe or end stage
Additionally, anyone in a hospice program, regardless of diagnosis, will be allowed access to marijuana oil that’s low on THC, the chemical responsible for the marijuana high.
Get Certified for Medical Cannabis In Georgia:
For potential medical marijuana patients in GA we are now offering the service that makes it easy to connect with a certified recommending doctor. You will also recieve updates & news relative to the medical marijuana program. If you believe you qualify or will in the future have please fill out the MMJ patient registration form and we will have a physician or clinic representative contact you if available. Legal Georgia Residents Only.
Georgia Medical Marijuana Patient Registration
Frequently asked questions we receive regarding medical marijuana in Georgia.
Once I have my Georgia MMJ card, where can I buy marijuana?
The law does not address how low THC oil is made, purchased or shipped. The law only creates a procedure to ensure qualified persons will be protected from prosecution for having it in their possession. The Georgia Department of Public Health does not prescribe or dispense low THC oil.
How much CBD can I possess?
Cardholders may posses up to 20 fluid ounces.
When I have my GA MMJ card, can I grow my own marijuana?
No. It is also important to remember marijuana is illegal under federal law.
Where can I find a recommending medical marijuana doctor in GA?
Does Georgia publish a list of certified marijuana doctors?
No. Any doctor licensed to practice medicine in the state of Georgia may submit the certification to the registry for the qualified patient so long as a doctor – patient relationship has been established.
Is CBD for Pets real?
Yes, CBD for Dogs, CBD for Cats, and CBD for pets in general is becoming a popular treatment for caring for pets that have arthritis, chronic pain and other ailments. The efficacy and safety of CBD for dogs, cats, and other pets have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. The FDA only evaluates foods and drugs, not supplements like these products.
Where can I get CBD for pets?
You can find CBD for pets online, at some pet stores, and at holistic shops.
Can I take medical cannabis CBD products only without THC to a Different State?
No. According to current laws patients who obtain a medical card should use medical marijuana in Georgia only.
Medical marijuana patients may face federal and local charges of transporting marijuana if they cross state lines with the drug. This is true even if the states between which they are traveling allow medical marijuana. Should you need to travel with your marijuana it would be best to contact the state’s Bureau of health to understand the exact laws of the state you are traveling to in order to not risk breaking the law.
Who Can Use Medical Marijuana?
Georgia law has several requirements for patients to be eligible to receive low-THC cannabis or medical cannabis.
A patient must have been diagnosed with a qualifying condition as stated above
A patient must be a Georgia resident
A patient must be issued a Low THC Oil Registry Card by The Georgia Department of Public Health
I see CBD Oils for sale online, in commercials and signs at head shops around town, is this CBD Oil legal in Georgia?
Hemp CBD oil which is derived from the hemp plant is legal throughout the United States, however to obtain Flower derived CBD oil, you will need to be entered into the registry by a qualified physician.
Will CBD, Hemp, or cannabidiol oil get me high?
Can I use Medical Marijuana Anywhere?
Similar to all states Georgia medical cannabis card holders have to be responsible. It is important to remember that when smoking in public, it may be assumed that you are using it for recreational use, which is illegal on a Federal Level. Georgia medical marijuana card holders are advised to consume their medicine responsibly, in the safety of their home or in a private residence.
How Much Should I consume?
Always consult with a licensed physician in Georgia before using medical marijuana.