How To Get A Medical Marijuana Card In Utah [2020 Update]
Utah has legalized marijuana for medical use! Are you wondering how to get a medical marijuana card in Utah? In this guide, we’ll go over the eligibility requirements as well as the steps involved in getting registered. We’ll also go cover Utah marijuana laws including which medical marijuana products are available in the state, how much of them you’re legally permitted to purchase, and where to buy medical marijuana in Utah.
Utah Qualifying Conditions for Legal Medical Marijuana
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
- Cannabis-induced cyclical vomiting syndrome
- Cannabinoid hyperemesis syndrome
- Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis
- Epilepsy or debilitating seizures
- HIV or acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS)
- Multiple sclerosis or persistent and debilitating muscle spasms
- Persistent nausea that is not significantly responsive to traditional treatment, except for nausea related to:
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) that is being treated and monitored by a licensed health therapist (defined here), and that:
- Has been diagnosed by a healthcare provider by the Veterans Administration and documented in the patient’s record; or
- Has been diagnosed or confirmed by evaluation from a psychiatrist, doctorate psychologist, a doctorate licensed clinical social worker, or a psychiatric APRN
In addition to those specific conditions are the following:
- A terminal illness when the patient’s life expectancy is less than six months
- A condition resulting in the individual receiving hospice care
- A rare condition or disease that affects less than 200,000 individuals in the U.S., as defined in federal law, and that is not adequately managed despite treatment attempts using conventional medications (other than opioids or opiates) or physical interventions
- Pain lasting longer than two weeks that is not adequately managed, in the qualified medical provider’s opinion, despite treatment attempts using conventional medications other than opioids or opiates or physical interventions
- A condition that the compassionate use board approves (once established) on a case-by-case basis
How to get a medical marijuana card in Utah
The Utah Department of Health is now accepting applications for medical marijuana cards online.
Here are the steps:
- In Utah, patients must be examined by a qualified medical provider (QMP) who is registered by the state to recommend medical cannabis.
- Meet in-person with the QMP. They will examine you and make a thorough assessment of your condition and determine whether you qualify for the program.
- If you are approved by a QMP, create a user ID by visiting login.utah.gov.
- Review the electronic verification system (EVS) user guide. The EVS Patient Application User Guide can be found here.
- Apply online for a Utah medical marijuana card. The application can be found here.
Once you have created a profile in the EVS, your QMP can go online and issues your recommendation.
The cost of a Utah Medical marijuana card is $15. A 30-day renewal is $5, and a six-month renewal is $15. You must pay the fee with your application.
The UDOH will review your application and confirm whether all requirements have been met. The application review process generally takes under two weeks from the date the application is submitted.
For minor patients younger than age 21 or for adults without a specific qualifying condition, the application review process can take up to 3 months.
Once you are approved, you’ll receive a copy of your medical marijuana card via email. You can save it on your smartphone or print it out.
Utah marijuana Telemedicine/Telehealth Online
Utah telemedicine laws permit medical marijuana doctors to conduct evaluations via phone and video conference. However, not all QMPs offer initial consultations via telemedicine. Contact your Utah medical marijuana doctor to find out if the practice offers telemedicine appointments for a Utah medical marijuana card.
Brief History Of Utah Marijuana Laws
Did you know that Utah was the second state in the US to make marijuana illegal? Before medical marijuana was partially re-legalized in Utah, it had been completely illegal for more than 100 years.
Long before “Reefer Madness” was a thing, way back in 1915, the state of Utah shut down its hemp industry along with declaring marijuana illegal.
Before we get into the details of how to get a medical marijuana card in Utah, let’s briefly go over the background leading up to the current Utah medical marijuana laws.
Many attempts have been made in the past decade to bring cannabis back to Utah.
Exactly 99 years after it was banned, in 2014, the House passed a hemp-CBD-only law. The measure legalized the possession and use of low-THC CBD oil by epilepsy patients only. However, it still forbade the use of marijuana.
Furthermore, the bill did not actually create a legal market for hemp CBD in the state. Nonetheless, the products were available online from other states.
In 2015, a bill was submitted to the Senate that would have allowed the use of medical marijuana by patients suffering from a list of more than a dozen qualifying conditions. The bill was defeated by a 15–14 vote.
Another attempt was made In 2016 with a very similar bill. The measure also called for a system for regulating the cultivation, tracking, distribution, and sale of medical marijuana. That bill passed the Senate 17-12. However, it got shot down by the House Health and Human Services Committee.
Furthermore, a 2016 proposal attempted to expand access to low-THC CBD oil. That measure, which also called for the regulated cultivation, tracking, distribution, and sale of cannabis passed both the Senate and the House Health and Human Services Committee but still did not make it to the House floor for a full vote.
In February 2018, a “right to try” bill was passed and signed to legalize the use of medical marijuana for terminally ill patients.
Then, finally, on November 6, 2108, Utah voters approved The Utah Medical Cannabis Act, a ballot initiative officially making the use of medical marijuana legal for patients suffering from a list of qualifying medical conditions.
The legislation was signed by the Governor the same day, and it went into immediate effect. However, the program is still under development as of the time of writing only a couple of dispensaries have opened for business.
With the background out of the way, let’s get to the good stuff.
Utah MedCard Q&A
Other Important Information about Utah Marijuana Cards
How Much Does a Utah Medical Card Cost To Get From The State?
$15 every 6 months.
How much does a Recommending Marijuana Doctor in Utah Cost?
The Average Cost to visit a Certified Ordering Doctor is $100 – $200 for the initial visit and $75 – $150 for the follow up visit.
Can doctors prescribe medical marijuana?
Doctors are actually not permitted to prescribe medical marijuana to their patients. However, if they are registered by the state, a doctor can recommend medical marijuana and approve their patients for access to the drug.
When I get my UT MMJ card, can I grow my own marijuana?
Where can I find a marijuana doctor near me in UT?
Check out out marijuana doctors map to see if any are listed near you.
Where To Buy Medical Marijuana In Utah?
As of the time of writing, there are only a couple of medical marijuana dispensaries in Utah. However, at least 8 are expected to open by July of 2020, with an additional 6 to open before the start of 2021.
Get Certified for Medical Cannabis In Utah:
For potential Utah medical marijuana patients we make it easy to connect with a recommending MedCard doctor. You will also receive updates & news relative to marijuana in Utah. If you are interested simply fill out the patient registration form and a clinic representative will contact you as available. Legal Residents Only Please.
Patient Registration Form
Utah Marijuana FAQ's
Frequently asked questions we receive regarding UT cannabis.
Can I Smoke Weed in Utah Once Qualified?
No – smoking is illegal, however you can vaporize flower.
What Medical Mariuana Products Are Available In Utah?
Not all medical marijuana products are available in Utah.
Smoking of cannabis is prohibited under the law. However, vaporizers are legal.
Furthermore, most edibles such as candies, cookies, brownies, and unprocessed flower may only be sold in blister packs.
The following medical marijuana products are legal under the Utah Medical Cannabis Act:
- Concentrated oils
- Skin creams
- Transdermal patches
- Gelatinous cubes
Unprocessed cannabis flower can also be purchased in blister packs containing no more than 1 gram of flower.
Furthermore, if the doctor determines that the patient is not responding to two of the above-listed forms, they can recommend concentrated wax or resin.
Can I Take My Medical Marijuana to a Different State?
No. According to current laws patients who obtain a medical card should use medical marijuana in Utah only. Medical marijuana patients may face federal and local charges of transporting marijuana if they cross state lines with the drug. This is true even if the states between which they are traveling allow medical marijuana. Should you need to travel with your marijuana it would be best to contact the state’s Bureau of health to understand the exact laws of the state you are traveling to in order to not risk breaking the law.
How Much Medical Marijuana Can I Possess?
Limits have been set on the amount of medical marijuana products patients are permitted to purchase and possess in Utah.
The maximum amount of medical marijuana a patient is permitted to possess at one time is 113 grams of dried cannabis flower in 1 gram blister packs. Alternatively, a patient may possess up to 20 grams of total THC in all other forms.
If a patient lives less than 100 miles from a medical marijuana dispensary, in any one 12-day period he or she may purchase up to the lesser of:
- An amount sufficient to provide 14 days of treatment based on the dosing parameters that the relevant qualified medical provider (QMP) recommends; or
- 56 grams of unprocessed cannabis (flower); or
- More than a total of 10 grams of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) in medicinal form
If a patient lives more than 100 miles from a dispensary, in any one 28-day period, patients may not purchase the lesser of:
- An amount sufficient to provide 30 days of treatment based on the dosing parameters that the relevant qualified medical provider (QMP) recommends; or
- 113 grams of unprocessed cannabis (flower); or
- More than a total of 20 grams of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) in medicinal form
Home cultivation is prohibited.
Is Recreational Weed Legal?
I see CBD Oils for sale on commercials, online, and at stores around town, is this CBD Oil legal in Utah?
Hemp derived CBD oil is legal.
Will CBD Oil, hemp, or cannabidiol get me high?
No. CBD is a product that has no THC if derived from hemp and very little if derived from cannabis. THC is the chemical compound that creates the “high”. CBD products are available for patients that have a need for non-euphoric treatment.
Is CBD for Pets really a thing?
Yes, CBD for Dogs, CBD for Cats, and CBD for pets in general is becoming a popular treatment for caring for pets that have arthritis, chronic pain and other ailments. The efficacy and safety of CBD for dogs, cats, and other pets have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. The FDA only evaluates foods and drugs, not supplements like these products.
Where can I get CBD for pets?
You can find CBD for pets at pet stores, retail and at holistic shops.
Are THC Infused edibles allowed in Utah?
Can I use Medical Marijuana Anywhere?
Similar to all states Utah medical cannabis card holders have to be responsible. It is important to remember that when smoking in public, it may be assumed that you are using it for recreational use, which is illegal on a Federal Level. Utah medical marijuana card holders are advised to consume their medicine responsibly, in the safety of their home or in a private residence.
How Much Is Medical Marijuana in Utah?
The price range for medical cannabis in UT is around $10 per gram and $125-$225 per ounce.
How Much Should I consume?
You should always consult with a Utah marijuana doctor before using and that doctor will set the course of treatment.