How To Get A Medical Marijuana Card In Georgia [2021 Update]
Now that medical marijuana is legal to some extent in the Peach State (albeit in oil form only) many folks who are seeking relief from their symptoms, and some who are planning on just faking them, are wondering how to get a medical marijuana card in Georgia.
In this post, we’ll go over the steps to getting a medical marijuana doctor’s approval using telehealth online and applying for a Georgia Low-THC Oil Registry card. Then we’ll go over the qualifying conditions for legal medical marijuana, Georgia marijuana laws, as well as Q&A.
Georgia has historically been on the conservative side when it comes to marijuana laws. And although the state now has a medical marijuana program, it’s definitely still considered to be on the conservative side.
What is Georgia Marijuana Telemedicine?
It's the way to get a Georgia medical card online from home!
Georgia – Telehealth gives patients the opportunity to visit with a marijuana card doctor using your smart phone, tablet, or personal computer. Qualified patients can get legal THC and CBD medicine for the treatment of several qualifying conditions.
If you’re ready, simply fill out the MMJ patient registration form, press submit, and you’re on your way to a marijuana doctors appointment from the comfort of your living room or dining room table. No travel, in person doctor office visit, or inconvenience needed. Your Georgia medical card will be issued after the doctors approval. See if you qualify today.
MMJ Patient Registration Form
Georgia Qualifying Conditions for Legal Medical Marijuana
Here’s a list of Georgia’s current medical marijuana qualifying conditions:
- Cancer, when such diagnosis is end stage or the treatment produces related wasting illness or recalcitrant nausea and vomiting
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, when such diagnosis is severe or end stage
- Seizure disorders related to diagnosis of epilepsy or trauma related head injuries
- Multiple sclerosis, when such diagnosis is severe or end stage
- Crohn’s disease
- Mitochondrial disease
- Parkinson’s disease, when such diagnosis is sever or end stage
- Sickle cell disease, when such diagnosis is severe or end stage
- Tourette’s syndrome, when such syndrome is diagnosed as severe
- Autism spectrum disorder, when (a) patient is 18 years of age or more, or (b) patient is less than 18 years of age and diagnosed with severe autism
- Epidermolysis bullosa
- Alzheimer’s disease, when such disease is severe or end stage
- AIDS when such syndrome is severe or end stage
- Peripheral neuropathy, when symptoms are severe or end stage
- The patient is in a hospice program, either as inpatient or outpatient
- Intractable pain
- Post-traumatic stress disorder resulting from direct exposure to or witnessing of a trauma for a patient who is at least 18 years of age.
How To Get A Medical Marijuana Card In Georgia
In order to qualify for a card, applicants must be examined by a medical doctor who will attest that the patient does, indeed, suffer from one of the qualifying medical conditions listed above. There are two forms — a waiver form which must be signed by both the applicant and the physician, and a physician certification form.
If your doctor doesn’t offer this service, you’ll need to get copies of your medical records and look for a doctor that does.
If your physician deems you worth, they will electronically submit the completed forms to the Georgia Department of Public Health. If your application is approved, you have your choice of 20 Public Health Offices across the state at which to pay for and pick up your card.
Your card is valid for two years from the date of issue, and the expiration date will be printed on the front of the card. If you wish to renew the card you need to be recertified by your physician and should initiate the process at least 30 days in advance. A replacement card will cost another $25.
GA MMJ Program Links and resources
Georgia MedCard Q&A
Other Important Information about Georgia Marijuana Cards
How Much Does a Georgia Medical Card Cost To Get From The State?
The fee for a Low THC Registry Card is $25.
How much does a Recommending Marijuana Doctor in Georgia Cost?
The Average Cost to visit a Certified Ordering Doctor is $150 – $250 for the initial visit and $125 – $180 for the follow up visit.
Can doctors prescribe medical marijuana?
Doctors are actually not permitted to prescribe medical marijuana to their patients. However, if they are registered by the state, a doctor can recommend low-THC medical marijuana and approve their patients for access to the drug.
When I get my GA MMJ card, can I grow my own marijuana?
No, growing medical cannabis at home is not an option currently.
Overview Of Medical Marijuana Laws in Georgia
A few years back, in 2015, the Georgia General Assembly approved the use of low-THC cannabis oil for a list of qualifying medical conditions. The 2015 law, although it did not make the production and sale of the drug legal, it did provide legal protection for patients who registered for the program.
However, it wasn’t until spring 2019 that legislators signed off on Georgia’s Hope, Act HB 324, creating a legal, regulated market for medical marijuana products in the state. More than 8,000 patients had signed up for the program before the new law went into effect. That number is expected to grow quickly.
Since the original program went into effect in 2015, Georgians have literally had to break state law to get their meds and will continue to do so until licensed producers make legal products available. It could be well into 2021 before that happens.
The new law calls for licensing up to six private companies to grow medical marijuana in the state. The rules also facilitate the legal operation of medical marijuana dispensaries.
Now, there is a catch. Under the state’s regulations, legal medical marijuana products are strictly limited to low THC cannabis oils containing no more than 5 percent THC, and patients may possess no more than 20 fluid ounces of this low-THC oil. The card which is issued to approved patients is literally called a “Low THC Oil Registry Card.”
In order to make cannabis oil, someone needs to grow cannabis plants. Typically, the resinous dried flower clusters which are harvested from the plant are referred to as marijuana. Companies licensed to produce marijuana in Georgia aren’t permitted to sell it in its smokable form. In order to produce cannabis oil, the dried buds undergo a process that extracts the essential oils, leaving behind the rest of the plant. This resulting cannabis oil contains all of the medicinally valuable compounds produced in the buds such as cannabinoids and terpenes.
Unfortunately, it’s going to be a while before registered patients are able to purchase their medicine. Medical marijuana advocates in the state are saying it will take one to two years before the first medical cannabis oil hits dispensary shelves. One of the reasons for the delay is that the newly created Georgia Access to Medical Cannabis Commission, which will oversee the program, has to appoint board members before it can start handing out licenses to produce and sell cannabis oil. The entire process could take 12 to 18 months.
Georgia Marijuana FAQ's
Frequently asked questions we receive regarding GA cannabis.
Once I have my GA MMJ card, where can I buy marijuana?
As we mentioned above, as of the time of writing the state has not yet appointed a board. Once members are appointed the board it will have the authority to license up to six companies to grow marijuana and extract the oil. The board will also be responsible for licensing dispensaries.
We’ll let you know when dispensaries in the state are up and running. In the meantime, if you can find a source to procure under 20 ounces of cannabis oil that meets the max 5 percent criteria, although the person selling it to you is breaking the law, your Georgia Low-THC Oil Registry Card provides you full legal protection.
How much legal weed can I have in GA with a card?
Upto 20 fluid ounces of low-THC cannabis oil.
Can I Smoke Weed Once Qualified?
Can I take my medical cannabis to a different state?
Medical marijuana patients in all states may face federal and local charges of transporting marijuana if they cross state lines with the drug. This is true even if the states between which they are traveling allow medical marijuana. Should you need to travel with your marijuana it would be best to contact the state’s Bureau of health to understand the exact laws of the state you are traveling to in order to not risk breaking the law.
Who Can Use Low THC Marijuana Oil in Georgia?
Card carrying medical marijuana patients.
CBD is for sale online in the forms of oils, topicals, flower and tinctures. CBD products for sale are also in head shops, pet stores and holistic shops around town. Is this CBD Oil legal in Georgia?
Hemp CBD oil which is derived from the hemp plant is legal throughout the United States.
Will CBD, Hemp, or cannabidiol oil get me high?
What is the difference between CBD & THC?
Psychoactive Vs. Non-Psychoactive. THC creates a euphoric effect due to the way it connects to the bodies endocannabinoid system. The endocannabinoid system has been recently recognized as an important modulatory system in the function of brain, endocrine, and immune tissues. Cannabidiol, or CBD reacts differently and is used with patients that require or prefer non euphoric care.
Is CBD for Pets really a thing?
Yes, CBD for Dogs, CBD for Cats, and CBD for pets in general is becoming a popular treatment for caring for pets that have arthritis, chronic pain and other ailments.
Where can I get CBD for pets?
You can find CBD for pets online, at some pet stores, and at holistic shops.
Are THC edibles allowed in Georgia?
How Much Should I consume?
You should always consult with a licensed Georgia medical marijuana doctor before using medical marijuana in any forms.