How To Get A Medical Marijuana Card In Louisiana 
The Complete Guide
Louisiana Marijuana Laws
Before we get into the details, it’s important to know that outside of the Louisiana medical marijuana program, marijuana is illegal. If you’re caught with a mere half ounce of marijuana and you don’t have a valid medical marijuana card (or the product doesn’t have a state tax stamp on it) you could risk spending a couple of weeks in jail and being charged a $300 fine. That’s on top of having a permanent criminal record. Anything over a half ounce up to two and a half pounds and you risk spending up to six months in prison and a $500 fine. And it just goes up from there. Second offense punishments are even harsher.
Furthermore, Louisiana has strict drugged driving laws. If you’re caught driving with certain levels of THC in your system, you risk not only fines and a criminal record, but also the loss of your license for a period of time.
The good news is some local jurisdictions in Louisiana have either fully or partially decriminalized the possession of small amounts of cannabis.
Still, given the risks involved with using marijuana in Louisiana, it’s highly advisable that you get a medical marijuana card. Although this provides you with legal protection and a source of lab tested cannabis products, there are some downsides. For one, the sale of dried, smokable buds is prohibited as is any other method of inhalation.
So, that being said, let’s get on with how to get your card and what you can buy with it.
Medical Marijuana in Louisiana
Before we say anything else on this topic be aware that medical marijuana sales are not expected to begin in Louisiana until Late 2019.
The Louisiana State Legislature passed Act 261 in 2015 officially legalizing medical marijuana. Originally, patients had the legal way to purchase their medication. To solve this problem SB 35 set the stage for the legal production and sale of medical marijuana in the state.
The Louisiana Board of Pharmacy sets the rules for dispensaries and issues permits to dispensaries in nine regions throughout the state. In the future, the Board may issue a 10th permit if demand is high in that region.
In order to be as compliant as possible with federal laws, doctors “recommend” medical marijuana rather than prescribing it.
How to Get a Louisiana Medical Marijuana Card
Actually, patients in Louisiana are not required to register with the state, nor to carry a medical marijuana card. Rather, they must obtain a recommendation from a state-certified physician.
The first step in getting a medical marijuana recommendation in Louisiana is to talk to a doctor who is authorized by the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners
If your physician does not offer this service you’ll need to gather your medical records from your current doctor and bring them to your exam.
Conditions That Qualify for MMJ in LA
Louisiana Debilitating Conditions List
What are the Qualifying Debilitating Conditions Required to Receive Medical Marijuana in Louisiana?
Marijuana has been shown time and again to provide medicinal benefits such as relief from pain, nausea, seizures, and much more.
Here is a list of Louisiana medical marijuana qualifying conditions:
Furthermore, autism patients may qualify for cannabis medicine if they are experiencing if they show severe self-stimulatory or repetitive behavior that jeopardizes the patient’s physical health, or an inability to communicate, or avoidance of other people that puts the patient’s physical health in danger, among other conditions.
Get Registered for Medical Cannabis In Louisiana:
Interested in Medical Marijuana? Let us help by starting here.
For potential medical marijuana patients in LA we make it easy to find a recommending doctor near you when they become active. You will also receive updates & news relative to the marijuana program. If you are interested please fill out the MMJ registration form below. Legal Residents Only.
Louisiana Pre-Registration Form
Additional Louisiana Medical Marijuana Rules
There are a few rules you should know about as you go through the process of getting your medical marijuana card and purchasing permitted marijuana products in Louisiana.
Possession limits – Qualified patients are permitted to purchase up to a 30-day supply of non-smokable preparations of marijuana as set by their recommending physician.
Home cultivation – Growing your own cannabis is not permitted. Only two entities are licensed to produce marijuana in the state of Louisiana.
Caregivers – Louisiana’s medical marijuana program does not yet allow patients to designate a caregiver to purchase and/or administer marijuana medications. And home delivery is not yet an option. That means if you cannot get to a dispensary to purchase medical marijuana you are unfortunately out of luck.
Reciprocity – Patients licensed to use medical marijuana in other states will not be allowed to purchase and use marijuana in Louisiana.
Doctors – Licensed physicians are only allowed to serve up to 100 patients.
Medical Marijuana Products Available in Louisiana
The Pharmacy Board also regulates the types of marijuana medications that dispensaries and pharmacies are allowed to sell.
Unfortunately, raw and dried cannabis is prohibited as are any products meant for smoking or vaping such as hashish or concentrates.
There are the medical marijuana products which are permitted under Louisiana’s medical marijuana program:
● Cannabis Extracts and Oils
● Tinctures, Solutions, and Suspensions
Furthermore, as of May 2019, a bill adding atomizing inhalers passed through the house and might be added in 2019.
We should also mention here that low- and zero-THC products such as CBD oil, which is produced from hemp rather than marijuana, can be purchased at shops throughout the state. They can also be purchased online and delivered to your home. A medical recommendation is not required to purchase CBD products.
CBD oil made from hemp is essentially devoid of THC, the buzz-inducing component of marijuana. Because it’s free of THC, CBD oil is non-intoxicating.
Visit CBDbay.app for a list of shops where you can purchase legal CBD products.
Other Frequently Asked Questions About Medical Marijuana
What is the difference between CBD & THC?
- Psychoactive Vs. Non-Psychoactive. THC creates a euphoric effect due to the way it connects to the bodies endocannabinoid system. The endocannabinoid system has been recently recognized as an important modulatory system in the function of brain, endocrine, and immune tissues. Cannabidiol, or CBD reacts differently and is used with patients that require or prefer non euphoric care.
Will CBD or Hemp oil get me high?
I see CBD Oils, Edibles, Creams, & Gummies for sale online, in commercials and signs at shops around town, is CBD Oil legal in Louisiana?
- Hemp CBD oil which is derived from the hemp plant is legal throughout the United States. The cannabis derived low-THC high-CBD Medicines are only legal in states with an approved medical marijuana program.
Where can I get Hemp Based CBD products online?
Is CBD for Pets really a thing?
- Yes, CBD for Dogs, CBD for Cats, and CBD for pets in general is becoming a popular treatment for caring for pets that have arthritis, chronic pain and other ailments. The efficacy and safety of CBD for dogs, cats, and other pets have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. The FDA only evaluates foods and drugs, not supplements like these products.
Where can I get CBD for pets?
- You can find CBD for pets some pet stores, retail and at holistic shops.
- Buy CBD for pets online.
I Recently Read An Article That Recreational Weed Was Legal In Louisiana, Is This True?
- No. Recreational Marijuana and Recreational Dispensaries Are NOT LEGAL in Louisiana – The Article was Fake News.
Are THC Infused edibles allowed in LA?
- Marijuana edibles are not legal in the state.
How Much Should I consume?
- We do not give medical advice. You should always consult with a licensed physician before using medical marijuana in any forms.